Science Class: Bubbles!

Bubbles! My science experiment for the week is about making a square bubble.

—If you’re unfamiliar with the idea behind this blog post, check my I.S. page on my site!—

But, as I was saying, my science experiment for the week is about making a square bubble. There are two videos (both by/involving Steve Spangler Science) explaining the who, what, when, where, and how of this game:

Video One: Steve and some news chick doing the experiment.

Video Two: Slow, easy explanation on how to do it at home, very DIY/budget worthy!

The other day at McAlister’s, my bf Steve was explaining mass vs weight to me. That got us involved on topics like volume, surface area, etc. Those seem to be the perfect primer for this week’s experiment! (Who knew?)

This Wiki article covers the first connection I saw right off the bat. “Soap bubbles are physical examples of the complex mathematical problem of minimal surface. They will assume the shape of least surface area possible containing a given volume.” But bubbles are much more basic in science and mathy subjects, which is why Steve Spangler suggests them for children. Turns out bubbles could help kids start to visualize concepts like color, light, reflection, and space. Square bubbles especially can help with geometry. (Which is another subject I hope to learn/re-learn one day.)

Now I gotta check with my other professor, and make my own square bubbles! Updates to follow. For now, watch Finding Nemo, see fun bubble pictures, or make your own square bubbles!

P.S. Other bubble ideas for kids, and other bubble experiments to try.

Leave a Reply

