I’m Dating a Vegan (and Other Truths I Didn’t Think My Late Twenties Would Bring)

I think that title would work for a collection of essays about how people change from ages 17-18-19 to ages 27-28-29. The time frame from right about high school graduation to a decade later. A sort of Chicken Soup for the I’m Fucked Now. A series of letters to our younger selves. Yeah…I wanna make that happen…

Things I would tell myself include, but are not limited to:

-You’re more than you think, in a very Walt Whitman way. “I am larger, better than I thought, I did not know I held so much goodness.”

-What matters the most may change. It also may not. Be ready to accept the joy either way. That’ll be what saves your ass.

-Friendship comes from within. Be a friend to have a friend. 

-Forgiveness sets us up to trust, which fills our lives with meaning. Just get over it and move forward. You’ll be glad you did.

It can always be worse. In fact, things are usually pretty damn good in at least three categories of life. Find the things that create gratitude, and build from there. Thankfulness breeds things to be thankful for.

-People don’t change for others, so don’t work towards making them change. Instead change yourself. Be the person you want to love.

-The only steady constant is change. Flexibility is required. Yoga helps.

-“Bored” is an excuse to avoid life. “Regret” is a pitfall that wastes time. “Guilt” is only useful as a pivot point.

-Don’t ever stop learning. As soon as you think you understand, turn it upside down and start over. There’s always another angle to see, another perspective to observe.

-Sleep. It’s good for you.

Leave a Reply

