Home again, home again, jiggity jig.

I’m back in the south for a month. It’s humid and too hot for October, and I love it. I missed the spanish moss and my friends’ laughter and oddities that come below the Mason-Dixon line. I missed sweet tea and neutral grounds. It’s good to be back.

I had big goals for “everyday” while I’m in NOLA, and so far I’m zero for two on accomplishments. The heat has melted me back into molasses. I am tending my uprooted bits and planting some new ground, so to speak. I hope that I’ll be in town annually, if not bi-annually. I think it’s even gonna be good for Matt. Although I miss the gerbil a lot already. I can’t really text her.

Changes seem to be everywhere, and I’m discovering buildings I could’ve seen before I moved. I’m coming to terms with being a tourist, and not a local.

The night will ebb too soon, and I need to sleep. My laptop is still on mountain time, so I keep forgetting it’s an hour later now. Time gets away from me constantly.

Leave a Reply

